Biographical sketch

Professor Dr. Hermann Schmidt-Hebbel, founder and first President of the Academy of pharmaceutical sciences of Chile, He was a brilliant professional and outstanding academic and scientist at the University of Chile.

He lived pending professional problems and was always willing to collaborate in activities related to the progress, development and refinement of the pharmaceutical profession.

He worked as an academic university teaching for sixty years, exercising various professorships in faculties of chemistry and pharmacy, veterinary medicine and in philosophy and education. His scientific work is reflected in his valuable studies on food, to publish the first table of chemical composition of the Chilean food in 1961 and 20 its specialty books.

So that his memory will remain in time, and remember him with dignity that the scale of his legacy deserves, the Academy instituted in the year 2007, Prof Medal. Dr. Hermann Schmidt-Hebbel, which sets an explicit tie between the past contributions and contributions from future generations to research and teaching in the fields of science to which he dedicated all his life.

See Regulation distinction "Medal Prof". Dr. Hermann Schmidt-Hebbel "here

Professionals honored with the medal Professor Dr. Hermann Schmidt-Hebbel

The medal has been awarded in the year 2009 it awarded two distinguished professionals in the field of food, the Prof. Dr. José Miguel Aguilera and the Prof. Dr. Fernando Monckeberg Barros, in the 2012 to Dr. Yedi Israel excelled in the area of Biochemistry.

Below are some of the award-winning curriculum details.

  • The Prof. José Miguel Aguilera titled industries Civil Engineer with specialization in chemical engineering at the Pontifical Catholic University of Chile, completing her master's degree at the Massachusetts Institute of technology and Cornell University PhD, both degrees in food technology, returning to the country in the year 1975 as the first Chilean doctor in this field. He later earned an MBA at the University of Texas&M.

    He carried out important research work, innovation and development of new products with better functional properties, nutritious and harmless. Internationally valued you as the initiator of the studies of the structure of the food to make them more healthy and functional.

    In 2001 Alexander von Humboldt won the award for the research of the German Foundation. The U.S. Institute of Food Technologist (IFT) has awarded it three times. The Chilean society of food technology awarded it the year 2000 Prof award. Hermann Schmidt-Hebbel and year 2008 He received the national award in applied and Technological Sciences.

    He has published nine books of his specialty, 29 book chapters and 156 Scientific and technical articles, in indexed international journals.

    In 2008 He managed to Chile to the headquarters of the World Congress of food engineering, held in Viña del Mar and recently became a member of the Technical Committee of the Cluster of processed food of the Ministry of agriculture.

  • The Prof. Dr. Fernando Monckeberg Barros is doctor surgeon from the University of Chile, Professor of Pediatrics of the University of Chile, Professor of nutrition of the Faculty of Chemical Sciences of the same University and associate professor at Harvard University. He was the creator of the Institute of Nutrition and Food Technology (INTA) and its Director during 22 years, Dean of the Faculty of Sciences of the health of the University Diego Portales until September of 2009, Founder and current Honorary President of the Corporation for Child Nutrition (CONIN).

    Member of a number of the Academy of Medicine of Chile, Member fee of the scientific Academy of Chile and member of other ten academies and scientific associations at the international level. Doctor Honoris Causa of the universities of Valladolid, of whose and Mendoza.

    Among the numerous awards received the national prize of applied and Technological Sciences stands in 1998 and the bicentennial award 2005, in recognition of its important role in the eradication of child malnutrition, the improvement of the quality of life, education and scientific and technological development in the country.

    He has written more than twenty books, hundreds of publications in scientific journals as well as also articles published in scientific books on the problems of health in the country.

    Dr. Monckeberg had fundamental participation in the formulation of programmes of food for infants, which allowed to eradicate child malnutrition. Also, He created programs for preschool and school feeding, improving school performance in children chronically malnourished.

    In the year 2012 received the medal the Prof. Dr. Yedy Israel
  • In the year 2012 received the medal the Prof. Dr. Yedy Israel

    Profile Prof. Dr. Yedy Israel

    The Prof. Dr. Yedy Israel titled biochemist at the University of Chile, in 1962. He received his Ph.d. in Biochemistry at the University of Toronto, Canada in 1965. In 1966 He specialized in Molecular Pharmacology at the National Institutes of Health, (Fogarty International Fellow), USA.

    From 1968 He has served as Professor of Biochemistry, Pharmacology and Toxicology at the University of Chile, Pharmacology at the University of Toronto, of pathology and cell biology at the Thomas Jefferson University of Philadelphia, and currently as Professor of Molecular and clinical pharmacology in the Faculty of Medicine of the University of Chile.

    Dr. Israel has developed an extensive research in the treatment of alcoholism, combining the expertise of alcoholism with the new area of gene therapy mainly in animals, pioneering in Chile's treatment in patients in which gene pharmacology is the therapy of choice, He has also taught course in gene therapy many students of different faculties of the University, achieving direct eight dissertations of professionals in Canada and USA and nine in Chile

    He has edited or co-edited 12 its specialty books, writing 34 book chapters and 208 Scientific articles, in international journals. He has also been quoted more than 11.900 times and has 62 H-Index.

    He has participated in the obtaining of 6 patent for treatment of alcoholism-related products, three of them commercialized.

    He is a member of various academies and scientific societies both in Chile and abroad, also received numerous awards include the distinguished researcher award by the society of studies on alcoholism in the United States. UU. in recognition of its important role in the treatment of alcoholism.


    • 1965 Reeve Award, Ph.d.. University of Toronto ; Canada
    • 1979 Pharmacological Society of Canada, Distinguished Research Upjohn Award.
    • 1980 Jellinek Memorial Award in Alcoholism, The Jellinek International Foundation.
    • 1990 Distinguished Researcher Award, U.S. Research Society on Alcoholism.
    • 1990-1997 Scientific Advisory National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism
    • 1997 President of Chile Chair in Sciences Award
    • 1999-2001 President, U.S. Research Society on Alcoholism
    • 2001-Life Member, Corresponding, National Academy of Sciences of Chile.
    • 2006 Thurman Lectureship Award, Bowes Center for Alcohol Studies, Univ. North Carolina.
    • 2012 Schmidt-Hebbel Medal, Academy of Pharmaceutical Sciences of Chile
    • 2014 Ishii Memorial Award, International Society for Biomedical Research on Alcoholism.
    • 2017 Lieber Lectureship Award. European Society for Biomed. Research on Alcoholism